Continental Divide Trail

Thru-Hike

Spring

2020

Northbound

 

In Progress

~3100 miles through the United States along the Hydrological Divide of the Americas

Avocado

Day 1

Today is the day. The beginning of the Continenta...

Thu, Mar 12, 2020

7.5 miles

Night 1

There's no water sources out here, so you walk fro...

Thu, Mar 12, 2020

Hobble

Day 2, Night 2

The inside of the bivy, and everything in it, is q...

Fri, Mar 13, 2020

80°

Day 3

Last night, there was no rain. Only bright stars...

Sat, Mar 14, 2020

Hatchita Patrol

Night 3

As I approach the next highway, I check my navigat...

Sun, Mar 15, 2020

Fashionable Find

Day 4, Night 4

Marion didn't want to get up early. But he does it...

Sun, Mar 15, 2020

Closer to Town

Day 5

As I was drifting off to sleep last night, I remem...

Mon, Mar 16, 2020

Over the Wash

Night 5

The off-trail route started just fine. After all, ...

Mon, Mar 16, 2020

The Covid Concern

Day 6, Day 7

Yesterday, the CDC announced that groups of 50 or ...

Tue, Mar 17, 2020

The Covid Unconcerned

Day 8

I meander a bit before leaving the hotel. I stayed...

Thu, Mar 19, 2020

Street Tacos

Night 8

The long road walk out of town is mind numbing. ...

Thu, Mar 19, 2020

Peak Jack

Day 9, Night 9

Hot dog. No condensation in my bivy last night. ...

Fri, Mar 20, 2020

Leisurely Stroll

Day 10

Late start this morning. I mean, I woke up at 6. ...

Sat, Mar 21, 2020

A Delightful Wash

Night 10

As I pass one of the gates, I come upon a sad sigh...

Sat, Mar 21, 2020

Silver Road

Day 11, Night 11

The water source I was depending on is dry, so I h...

Sun, Mar 22, 2020